Advice on starting floor cleaning business | TruckMount Forums #1 Carpet Cleaning Forums

Advice on starting floor cleaning business

Brian Sulltrop

Aug 15, 2015
Real Name
Brian Sulltrop
For the last year or so I have given a lot of thought and research to starting and carpet and tile cleaning business. First my background is I have been in the fire and water restoration world for a few years now and have performed a fair amount of carpet cleaning and floor care in my time with a large restoration company so I am not a total newbie but no where near a seasoned vet. I have become simple burnt out lately in the restoration world with the non stop go go go and only time to sleep and no time for family and am there for looking into seriously starting a carpet and tile cleaning business of my own. I have no problem working long hours when needed however I know if I am blessed with lots of business as the owner operator I can say no to a job in order to gain family time if need be. And of course I don’t have much money set aside however I could pickup a decent used porty and a vlm machine and the needed supplies with the money I have saved. So I suppose I have said all that to say is it worth while it to start out with the basics going door to door and or looking for commercial work or is that a road that will just lead to very little income?

Reactions: OldCarpetVet

rob allen

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Sep 5, 2007
Va.
www.drynclean.com
Real Name
Robert Allen,Jr.
Business Location
United States