Quoting services according to budget

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Aug 29, 2018
Real Name
Chris Westerman
I'm relatively new to the business side of things but in the past when an commercial client would call for a quote let's say a church, I'd go in measure up give them the figures and leave the slip and numbers to do the selling. Recently I noticed a church that I had quoted had another company in that was from a really long ways away. It got me thinking they must have really came in alot lower if they justified driving all that way. As a local tech I would have loved to be their go to but I understand if they just couldn't afford my rates. My question is do any of you start the relationship by asking what they have budgeted to spend and then just clean accordingly? So maybe they just get a good encap treatment, I could justify not having to charge as much if it meant that they weren't drawing on some company 60 miles away. I'd invite your opinions.

PistolPete

Sep 28, 2014
Real Name
Peter Dymond
It's a bad place to start an estimate from.
Their budget or expectations on cost shouldn't affect your price.
Here's why;
1) There will always be someone cheaper.
2) They may have a fantasy idea of what it would cost.
3) If they do give you a number, I guarantee it's too low.

You have to really know what your cost is and stick to it.

Now if you're starting out and need the work you can go below what you usually charge.

A great concept is to offer Good, Better & Best price options.

This can be discussed when you present the numbers.

Todd the Cleaner

Todd Cottino
Staff member
Administrator
Premium VIP
Sep 4, 2011
Pahrump, Nevada, United States
www.toddscleaningservice.com
Real Name
Todd Cottino
Business Location
United States
It's a bad place to start an estimate from.
Their budget or expectations on cost shouldn't affect your price.
Here's why;
1) There will always be someone cheaper.